Wandering Through The Hills

“But Kansas is just flat and boring to drive through,” said by so many of my friends who have driven through Kansas. They are wrong.

I’ve been making the journey from Kansas to Oklahoma on I-35 South to visit home for  about five years now. I will admit the first part of my drive can be a bit monotonous but at about the halfway mark the view changes.  From flat farmland to rolling hills as far as the eye can see- The Flint Hills.

This is by far my favorite part of the journey.  Every time I drive through the rolling plains I think to myself, “I should stop and take pictures”. Well after 5 years, I finally did.  I pulled off on a remote exit that’s normally reserved for ranchers checking on their cattle to start my mini adventure.  It was so refreshing just to stop and appreciate the beauty of nature.  Normally I’m admiring the Flint Hills going 75 mph and also trying to keep my eyes on the road. While I still felt like I soaked in the beauty the hills had to offer, it was rather a blurred encounter.

This was a nice reminder for me that it’s essential to sometimes just stop and take in your surroundings. Life can be crazy. Stop and have an adventure even if it’s just for 10 minutes.  I soaked up the autumn sunshine, sitting on the hood of my car taking in the beauty of the Flint Hills in a new way and I’m glad I took the time to stop.

Flint Hills Flint Hills Flint Hills Flint Hills

About beautifultravels

One individual. Living in a big world. Interested in discovering everything and traveling everywhere. This blog depicts the places I've been, the places I dream of going and the places I will travel to. Life is short, have an adventure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

